INDIANA UNIVERSITY BLOOMINGTON

Recognition of Outstanding Seniors

Wednesday, April 14, 2021 · 7 p.m. EDT

Lauren Robel, Provost and Executive Vice President, presiding

Welcome and Introductions	Provost Robel
Remarks and Presentation of Awards	M. Davis O'Guinn Vice Provost for Student Affairs and Dean of Students Indiana University Bloomington
	Susan Butler Award
	Clara Javan Goodbody Award
	P.J. and Hilda W. Hill Award
	Kate Hevner Mueller Outstanding Senior Awards
Remarks and Presentation of Awards	Provost Robel
	Elvis J. Stahr Distinguished Senior Awards
	Herman B. Wells Award
Closing	Provost Robel

2021 HONOREES

HERMAN B WELLS AWARD

Asmaa Mahoui Kathryn Anne Petersen

ELVIS J. STAHR DISTINGUISHED SENIOR AWARDS

Allison Jorden Margaret V. Schnabel Graham L. Vogtman

SUSAN BUTLER AWARD

Alyssa Woolard

CLARA JAVAN GOODBODY AWARD Meena S. Moorthy

P. J. AND HILDA W. HILL Award

Jaclyn Ferguson

KATE HEVNER MUELLER OUTSTANDING SENIOR AWARDS Natalia Almanza Adanma Amzat Caroline Anders Rachel L. Aranyi Andres Ayala Elizabeth A. Dietrich

KATE HEVNER MUELLER OUTSTANDING SENIOR AWARDS (CONT.) Araceli Flores Justin M. L. Freeman Meloddy Gao **Emma Gerrety Taylor-Paige Guba** Morgan Hoffman **Briana Hollins** Amani B. Khoury Carli Ann King Richard J. Liu Lauren Long Sarah M. Nance Dana F. Nissan Mackenzie Nworah Austen Mason Ott Olivia M. Reed Sophia C. Ren Wendy Ruiz Stuart Glynn Anderson Sones Bec Stein Sritej Vontikommu Ayla L. Winegar





HERMAN B WELLS AWARD

Herman B Wells served as president of Indiana University from 1937 to 1962, and then as chancellor until his death in 2000. A beloved leader of uncommon vision and generosity, his legacy continues to permeate every corner of the university. The Indiana Memorial Union Board of Directors created the award in 1961 to honor an outstanding senior who has excelled academically and is an established leader within the IU community.

ELVIS J. STAHR DISTINGUISHED SENIOR AWARDS

Elvis Jacob Stahr Jr. served as president of Indiana University from 1962 to 1968, succeeding Herman B Wells. He had been a Rhodes Scholar, a practicing attorney, provost of the University of Kentucky and University of Pittsburgh, president of West Virginia University, and Secretary of the Army under John F. Kennedy. He established the awards to honor IU seniors who excel academically while serving as active campus and community leaders. Awardees demonstrate significant academic achievement, often with research experience.

SUSAN BUTLER AWARD

The Butler Award honors the memory of Susan Butler, the mother of Margaret Butler Snow, a supporter of Indiana University during the Great Depression. It recognizes a graduating senior woman who has demonstrated outstanding scholarship and character.

CLARA JAVAN GOODBODY AWARD

The Goodbody Award was established in memory of Clara Javan Goodbody, the mother of Louise Ann Goodbody, who served as Indiana University's dean of women from 1906 to 1911. The award is presented each year to a senior woman who is planning to pursue graduate study in the fall term following graduation in May or August.

P. J. AND HILDA W. HILL AWARD

The Hill Award was established by a gift from P. J. Hill, a 1920 graduate of Indiana University. He was the first African American principal of an American desegregated secondary school. Each spring the award is presented to an outstanding IU Bloomington senior who has demonstrated a commitment to creating an equitable and inclusive campus during their undergraduate career.

KATE HEVNER MUELLER OUTSTANDING SENIOR AWARDS

Kate Hevner Mueller served Indiana University from 1937 to 1969 as dean of women, senior counselor for women, and a professor of education. The Kate Hevner Mueller Outstanding Senior Awards were established in 2013 to honor IU seniors who have provided leadership on campus both inside and outside of the classroom, and who have improved the IU community by their presence.